Under the Provisions of Bombay Provincial Municipal Corporation Act, 1949, Section - 4, the powers have been vested in three Distinct Statutory Authorities:

 General Board

The General Board is the supreme body of the Corporation constituted by elected members from each wards. Four members are elected from each ward for the term of 5 years. The 16 wards makes a total of 64 councilors. fifty percent of the seats are reserved for ladies.

 Standing Committee

The Standing Committee is one of the most important committees. It has the powers to sanction and award major works. It is also vested with financial powers.